top of page
  • Writer's pictureH.D. Campbell

Mask or No Mask? Vaccine or No Vaccine? I'm Sick Of The Debate









When the pandemic became a reality, it also became a part of what would be a new norm. What we didn't expect is two sided debating on a solution to the point where it divided the country and caused an anxiety in me personally, affecting my blood pressure. Something I promise will never happen again.


I'm just going to break it down like this. I'm vaccinated, my family is vaccinated. You don't have to get vaccinated but what you won't do is scare or intimidate me because of my choice and vice versa. No vaccinations are not 100 percent but there's not vaccination in the history of vaccinations that's 100 percent. Also, unless you're old enough to remember the Spanish Flu 100 years ago, then you've never been in a pandemic before.


A pandemic is NOT an exact science. First you need to stop listening to everyone on the corner with a theory and start listening to those same doctors you go to when you're sick or need emergency care. While you're demonizing the CDC and Dr. Fauci (who's been working under every president since Ronald Reagan, you need to try to listen. Yes Dr. Fauci made some mistakes but so have many of you who read this blog article. Should I blast some of your past mistakes on social media? I'll never do that but I tell folks all the time that missteps doesn't define you are. Dr. Fauci's past missteps are in the name of SCIENCE in which you should have learned that science is theory and we're testing theories. No that does not make us guinea pigs. That's like saying Cancer patients going through chemo are guinea pigs because there are not drugs guaranteeing everyone's survival rate from the disease.


From my mother in law to my company's artistic director, me and my family suffered so many losses due to Covid-19 and again yes you can still get sick. The shot doesn't make you Superman in which you're invulnerable to illness. You still have to wear a mask and social distance. Those who are getting sick are those with other underlying conditions or those who think they are Superman. Those vaccinated who do what they're supposed to do and still get sick, the symptoms are more like a cold but no worse than a bad flu.


However, I'm not here to convince you otherwise. I'm just here to tell you I'm sick of debating, I'm sick of tell you what's right and what's wrong. I would say do the research but the media pool is filled with so much tainted and false information, I can't keep up. I find myself going behind others' false social media information and looking up the real information. That's where I stop. I will be posting the accurate information here on my media page/newsletter and nothing else.


While I'm on my soapbox, let me tell you that I don't agree with refusing medical care but again that's me being real as opposed to some of you choosing to stay one sided. No, everyone has a right to medical care. It's what this country is based on. Now the mandatory vaccinations for certain workers debate I'm out of because that's how I get roped back in. Though this newsletter has its share of political news, it will not always be of bad news.


Bottom line is I'm vaccinated but I can still be friends with you if you're unvaccinated (just six feet apart). We have no rights to insult, harass, threaten or humiliate each other a mask or needle. We should be able to disagree and still move on. I'm going to hold on to my views and you hold on to yours.


By the way, I'm going to keep wearing my mask just like I'm still going to wear my seatbelt, life jacket and other necessary tools I need to be safe.

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page