top of page
  • Writer's pictureH.D. Campbell

Spotlight: Jessica Hosten Direct From MultiverseCon



As we close out Speculative Fiction month and enter NaNoWriMo, I had a chance to speak with one of many prolific authors of the genre. Her name is Jessica Hosten and I had a chance to speak with her ahead of her Multiversecon appearance last month. We talked Speculative Fiction, Multiversecon and more. We've been friends for years and she's a frequent visitor to the Author's Corner. This is our interview prior to Multicon with our first spotlight author.


1. Tell me about the Multiverse Con and what will you be spotlighting there?


Multiverse Con is a 3-day convention for fans of science fiction, fantasy, horror, gaming and cosplay located in metro Atlanta. The conference is a fun-filled weekend featuring dozens of the industry’s top creators.


I’ll be participating in Mentoring sessions as well as the Girls Rule 3.0, Expanding the Fantasy, and Writing out Your Dreams panels. I’ll also be doing readings from some of my works including a twisted fairytale and my October release The Burning Queen.



2. This being Black Speculative Fiction Month, what will those in attendance expect?


The organizers of Multiverse Con definitely made a point to make the speakers and presenters a diverse group. Many of the tract leaders and presenters are on the front lines of the indie Black Speculative Fiction movement. People like Milton Davis, Gerald Coleman, and Marcus Haynes will be in attendance sharing their works and knowledge from the perspective of those writing in the Black Speculative fiction genre.



3. What are some of the other surprises at Multiverse Con?


I think the biggest surprise will be the cosplayers. We’ve heard from many who are planning to go all out, including full furry costumes. Though there won’t be any children this year, these cosplayers still want the participants to get the full con experience which includes pictures with cosplayers.



4. How can we be a part of Multiverse Con and what’s the date?


Multiverse Con runs from Friday October 15th through Sunday October 17th. Tickets are still available, More information can be found on the Multiverse Con website at www.multiversecon.org



5. I know you have a few things in the works speaking of Speculative Fiction?


I’m always working on something. My next book, The Burning Queen is scheduled for release October 15th. It is a story of family, betrayal, and remembering to always watch one’s back. On the horizon I have a couple of other works. The first book in my Wraith of Reapers series will be released next year and I am working on a Science/Fantasy novel called Belle of Sun’Sudah which explores a perspective on the origins of life on Earth.



6. Any more things coming up for you as far as guest spots?


Though the event is virtual, I will be participating in the Clayton County Library Indie Author Day events on November 12th and 13th. For updated information visit the library system site https://claytonpl.org/iad/



7. Let’s talk about you to my readers. How long have you been in the business and what got you there?


I usually start this spiel with I’m a techie by trade and a writer by necessity. I’ve been writing what I consider long fiction for over 20 years professionally. I started out writing song lyrics and eventually ventured into novel writing. I do write across many genres including science fiction, fantasy, fairytale retellings under the penname Aziza Sphinx and I write urban suspense and urban fiction under the penname Ana’Gia Wright.

8. What are your three best titles according to your readers?


For those who love a little smut in their life, A Licentious Storm (Aziza Sphinx) is definitely at the top of the list. I have readers who love the more literary feel of A Moment Before Midnight (Aziza Sphinx). And my readers who like family drama taken to new heights, Doubletake (Ana’Gia Wright) will hook you from the jump and not let you go.


9. I know these are your children but do you have a couple of titles you favor more than others?


I think I have sets of characters I love more than others. Like most of my readers I love my Guatreaux clan, especially the Guatreaux men in The Agency: Reviving Resurrection (Ana’Gia Wright). The more I write about them, the more I am favoring my wraiths and reapers alike. I can’t wait to share their stories with readers.


10. What are some of your other literary projects?


I do have a couple of projects in the works under both pennames. I am always game to give a new spin on fairytales whether they are well known or not, which is what I’ve done in my collection of shorts called Funky Fairytales.


11. I know from our conversations you have a few but what are some of your nonliterary related hobbies?


I’m a racer at heart, and I’ve had a stint or two on the track myself. As a daddy’s girl I’ve spent many weekends with a fishing pole in my hand catching dinner or under the hood of a car. And I’m definitely a play in the dirt country girl so I garden on the side as well.



12 How can your readers get to know you better?


Visit my website and sign up for my newsletter at www.azizasphinx.com I am also on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram under both of my pennames of AnaGia Wright and Aziza Sphinx.


13. Any future projects coming up?


Up next on my Aziza Sphinx list is a modern version of the Cinderella tale with an unexpected twist and a flip around of what people think they know about Snow White. As far as my next Ana’Gia Wright project, look for Towing Love, romance on a repo, to be available in early 2022.


14. Any advice you can offer new writers especially of your genre?


At the top of the list read, read, and read more. And don’t limit yourself to just what is being pushed by the big publishers. There are so many gems and so many stories in the indie author market that get overlooked because the powers that be in the publishing industry don’t think they can make a profit off of them. My other advice is to find your community, learn and share, and keep writing. The more you do it the better you’ll get.

11 views0 comments
bottom of page